Seeking the way

rey spadoni

“If you do not change direction, you may end up where you are heading.”

Lau Tzu

Taken (Fujifilm X-E1) in San Diego harbor and converted in Silver Efex Pro from Nik Software.

This sailor, a native New Englander, found warmer pastures but rougher waters in sunny SoCal.  His task: steer us clear of lobster traps and buoys, riding herd on swells that tossed the rest of us, though firmly nestled in seats, all about.

Sure footed, he looked only forward.

Gestured to starboard or port.

This entry was posted in Images and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Seeking the way

  1. Rodney says:

    Ah, the open seas. Hard to make a wrong turn out there. Beautiful capture Rey, I don’t think the ocean has ever looked better in black and white.

  2. Prentis says:

    Rey, Wonderful shot. Give us some comments on your impressions of Silver Efex Pro. Is it worth the money? In your opinion what does it add to B&W conversions done with Lightroom 4 or other commonly used post processing software? Maybe I should download the trial and find out for myself.

    • Rey says:

      Prentis –

      You can do all this in Lightroom. I like Silver Efex because it gets me headed in the right direction quickly, allowing me to try different looks to see which works best. Then with the simple interface, I can easily customize. Secondly, selective adjustments (via control points) just work from my perspective. I’m a pretty big fan of Nik products.

      Rey

  3. LaRee says:

    Nice work from the waters of my hometown. It doesn’t look *too* rough out there. But then, looks can be deceiving sometimes can’t they? Prentis, I’ll give you my answer to your question. YES Silver Efex Pro is worth the money. The whole suite of Nik software is the way to go actually.

    • Rey says:

      LaRee –

      Yes! You might get the impression from this photo that we were fairly still but we were most assuredly bouncing up and down.

      Thanks,

      Rey

  4. Ed Spadoni says:

    Great lines & composition Rey.

Leave a comment