I stand alone

tree, trees, clouds, lonely, hill

© 2013 Ed Spadoni, iPhone 5

I am never late for breakfast.  Or lunch or dinner or medical appointments.  I am never late for anything for that matter.  I was always punctual by nature, but was never quite so mindful of the clock, that is, until I became a resident of building K, room 205.

Although four years have transpired and correspondence has been mislaid, I remain optimistic that my agents are vigorously pursuing a revision to the opinion that confines me here.  Meanwhile, I have adapted to a life with no control and near-constant surveillance.  For example, I decided early on to suppress my normally gregarious personality and become a transparent soul in order to blend and disacknowledge myself.

Now if you think I do this for my own physical welfare, you’re partially correct.  Yes, there are men here who are more sturdy and aggressive than I, but I also choose to remain distant from that element so as to not lessen my cerebral superiority by dilution and association.  For despite the encumbrances, I still have work to do.

The nature of my endeavors I am not able to discuss, but suffice to say it requires all of my intellect and ability to recollect complex relationships found in the physical sciences.  And I must be able to communicate exquisitely else my (future) disciples will suffer needlessly.

I apologize for being so equivocal, but I am dedicated to my task, and cannot risk revealing an iota to you, or anyone you may, even casually, mention this to, else I will join the ranks of failed men.

You see, I have learned that with a surreptitious existence, I am quite content, you might even say merry, with the knowledge that there are they and there is I.

And I am not influenced, I am not altered, I am not penetrated.  For despite their best efforts, I stand alone.

The above transcript are the words conveyed to me during a brief visit with a once renowned professional man.

The above photo is the view from his only window.

About Ed Spadoni

www.2GuysPhoto.com "Thoughts and opinions, resources and experiences… for emerging photographers everywhere."
This entry was posted in Essay, Images and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I stand alone

  1. Ed,

    A haunting, powerful revelation from the (obviously) institutionalized.

    Frank V.

  2. Steven Tryon says:

    Thanks, Ed. My mom, one of the smartest, sharpest people I have ever known is now watching her memory slip away.
    Thank God for a room with a view.
    Steve

  3. RMW says:

    I am mindful of being grateful every day for my independence and freedom…… you never know what is coming next in life or when it is coming… (but at least it’s a nice view).

  4. Rodney says:

    That is quite a story. One that could be read many ways I think. Sadness perhaps? I think it reflects resilience and finding a way to be merry under circumstances you may not enjoy. I like the photo too! The cloud seems to stand alone. The tree on the hill seems to stand alone. Yet there is a lot going on around them. I hope I can stand alone with strength like this gentleman does.

  5. Rob says:

    Wonderful post!

  6. Clanmother says:

    I came back to read this a couple of times for this theme resonates with all of humanity. We live in a finite reality, yet possess an indomitable spirit that seek the infinite. We live within community, but there are times, when we must embrace an unknown pathway, alone! Thank you for a most excellent post.

Leave a Reply

