My turning point

rey spadoni

“It’s like a tear in the hands of a western man…
He’ll tell you about salt and carbon and water.
But a tear to a Chinese man…
He’ll tell you about sadness and sorrow or the love of a man and a woman.”

– Ride the Tiger.  Jefferson Starship

rey spadoni

Perspective.  The perch upon which you peer.  It matters.

Photography for me has been seeking the beauty in the world around me and then the effort to capture it on a two dimension medium, mostly so I could remember it subsequently.  It has been the endeavor to pull those things from out of the air and then to press them down under wax paper for a later reminiscence.

Photography for me is becoming an act of seeing what others do not.  Of creating beauty where there may be none obvious.

This is the turning point upon which I now stand.  A new perch.

Wish me luck.

This entry was posted in Images and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My turning point

  1. Lou Nachman says:

    Welcome back and to those who continue to seek another path.

  2. Frank says:

    Hey Rey,
    Glad to see you’re back in the saddle, photographically speaking. Good luck with your endeavors…I take it you will be embarking on a full-time career change? If there is anything I can help with, please let me know…and all the best on your new venture.

    Frank V.

  3. Great quote…shows my age! Perspective is so very critical to how we view life, art and everything in between. Good to learn you are developing a new perspective. I look forward to the results. I noticed the vast difference of your photographs: nature and metal. Yet, both reveal linear images. Intentional, I presume, and well stated.

    • Rey says:

      Thanks, Michael. I’m sure there are some readers who are saying Jefferson who?

      Interesting thought: nature and metal. Honestly, I that didn’t dawn on me.

      Thanks,

      Rey

  4. Prentis says:

    Great to see you back. The second shot is cool. What is it?
    Luck will have little to do with your endeavors where skills are self evident.

    • Rey says:

      Thanks, Prentis.

      It’s a shot from the floor up of a common office vertical window blind. With a little post-processing thrown in.

      Rey

      • Prentis says:

        I see. But where do all those dots come from?
        Whatever. Maybe I need to know too much and should just enjoy the art for what it is.

        • Rey says:

          Hi Prentis – actually, that’s just the pattern in the blind. Tiny dots. When I took the picture, I was intrigued by it as it didn’t look real. The Nik Color Efex treatment added to the mystery. That way my goal anyways…

          Thanks,

          Rey

Leave a Reply

