Finally, after thirteen years

rey spadoni

I’d argue convincingly, as I confidently stirred my cocktail, that I am a visually oriented person.  That, as a photographer y’know, I tend to search for beauty and that I always look to build, to improve my eye.  Beauty is all around us, I’d state, inferring that I would be just the one to spot it.

This image was taken less than a mile from my house.  Believe it or not, I’ve driven by it nearly every day for the past thirteen years… but never once nabbed a shot there.  It’s the runoff from a local river, and passing just beneath where I was standing through an ugly pipe where murk and foam build up, is a brownish rush of water.  It’s an eyesore and so I must have declared the entire place just that: an eyesore.  Devoid of all beauty, despite my cocktail hour musings.

With a Fujifilm X-E1 in hand, mounted with one of the finest wide primes I’ve ever had the pleasure of using (the Fujfilm 14mm), I drove by this spot last Saturday, but I didn’t see the murk and foam that typically holds my attention.  Of course, after thirteen years, little holds my attention at this point beyond the fact that I’m almost home.

It’s a nice spot.  And there’s beauty there.  For thirteen years, I completely missed it.

And seeing the image now, I laugh.  The guy stirring the drink?  Dope.

This entry was posted in Images and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Finally, after thirteen years

  1. Frank says:

    Rey,
    Happens to all of us. Musings, worries, traffic…just Life in general, get in the way and cloud our vision. Every now and then the fog lifts…and we witness Beauty (as if for the first time). It was always there, quiet, unannounced…we just didn’t notice…

    Lovely image.

    Frank V.

    • Rey says:

      Frank –

      “Life in general gets in the way and clouds our vision…”

      It’s an amazing and worthwhile quest to try to let this not be the case. For me, photography is the antidote.

      Thanks for your comment!

      Rey

  2. RMW says:

    This is why I leave my car at home as much as possible and go on foot…. or public transportation where I can look out the window instead of the car in front of me. Lovely shot!

    • Rey says:

      Wise advice. I tend to heed it when I travel but, for some reason, nearby my house, it’s all car…

      You are exactly right, though. You tend to see much, much more when on foot.

      Thanks,

      Rey

  3. Steven Tryon says:

    Heh. You’re talking to a guy who has exhibited drainage ditch shots in juried shows. Ok, it was dew on the grass next to the ditch, but you get the idea.

    • Rey says:

      Steven –

      I’m just curious: was your shot of the dew primarily or was the drainage ditch part of your subject? I ask because I’m intrigued with the concept of finding beauty in some unexpected places.

      Thanks,

      Rey

  4. Howard says:

    Your right, Rey, beauty is all around us. Sometimes, we just have to slow down long enough to see it! Beautiful image, glad you shared it!

Leave a Reply

