A good day for basking in the sun

dragonfly, common whitetail skimmer, Sony NEX 6

During a walk through a forest preserve recently, as I traversed a pond encircled with trails, I spotted these dragonflies.  They were content to let me get reasonably close, but I did get dive-bombed a few times.

dragonfly, common whitetail skimmer, Sony NEX 6

The closest I can get to a matching identification is that of the male Common Whitetail Skimmer, where I read that their typical habitat is near slow or standing water.  And they are very territorial and will drive off other males.  I guess they recognized me.

Both were taken with a Sony NEX 6, the first at 50mm using the 16-50mm lens, the second at 210mm, using the 55-210 zoom.  I think the 16-50 is sharper but the second, taken with the zoom, has really nice bokeh.  Tweaked in Lightroom 4.

© 2013 Ed Spadoni

About Ed Spadoni

www.2GuysPhoto.com "Thoughts and opinions, resources and experiences… for emerging photographers everywhere."
This entry was posted in Images and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A good day for basking in the sun

  1. I like the color of this dragonfly. Very good composition.

Leave a Reply

