Dancers

rey spadoni

 

A few minutes here and there of “Dancing with the Stars” and that’s about it.  But on Sunday I found myself photographing a ballroom dance competition.  Memory card… check.  Fully charged battery… check.   Knowledge of the subject matter… ah, nope.

But I’ll confess it here in this little intimate space we share called the internet: I loved it. I mean I really loved it.

Fantastic music blaring through a high quality sound system.  Foxtrots, waltzes, mambos… the flowing movement, the sweeping gestures, and most of all the smiles, the joy.  It was infectious.

I tapped my toes, I anticipated movements and I shot away.  And the joy came…

When does “Dancing with the Stars” start again?

This entry was posted in Images and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dancers

  1. mikeronesia says:

    Nice shot. It sounds like a lot of fun.

  2. Hey Rey,

    Great shot, and great subject matter. Congrats on your first shoot and welcome to ballroom competition! A very pleasant change-of-pace from the run-of-the-mill static landscape subjects.

    • Rey says:

      Thanks, Frank.

      Though I consider myself to be (mostly) a landscape photographer, it has certainly occurred to me that I’d like to stretch my limits and take more people shots. It has felt like a pleasant change of pace for me indeed.

      Rey

  3. Ed Spadoni says:

    Three points Rey:

    Her expression is the whole story -excellent shot.

    March 18.

    Put your money on Kellie Pickler!

    • Rey says:

      Thanks, Ed.

      March 18? Approaching fast. Glad it’s not on Sunday nights, though. That’s reserved for “The Walking Dead”….

      Rey

  4. Bille Jean says:

    WOW!!! How fun! If this picture is an indication of all the others you did a FANTASTIC job!
    Of course I love that joyful and beautiful face, and the dress is gorgeous!
    Well done kiddo!!

    • Rey says:

      Bille –

      Thank you! I’ll be posting another example or two in the coming days. It truly was a fun experience.

      Rey

  5. The music, joy and energy shine right out of that gorgeous photo!

Leave a Reply

