“The Harbor at Valdez”, by Rodney Daly

Valdez, alaska, harbor, BW, black and white, Nikon, D3000, Rodeny Daly

“This harbor scene is in Valdez, Alaska. I went there hoping to kayak or take a cruise out to the glaciers. But a rainy, stormy day prevented me from doing so. The good news is the rainy, stormy day gave me the harbor all to myself practically, so I could capture a great misty day photo with NO people to interrupt me! I felt the rain made it a great day to do black and white, although I do have a color shot of the same photo that is not too bad I think. I just like the black and white better personally.”

Rodney shot this with his Nikon D3000 set to manual exposure mode at f/4.5, 1/1600s, and at the widest end of his 18-55 Nikon lens.

Thanks for the photo Rodney, and for taking us with you on your travels.

About Ed Spadoni

www.2GuysPhoto.com "Thoughts and opinions, resources and experiences… for emerging photographers everywhere."
This entry was posted in Images and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “The Harbor at Valdez”, by Rodney Daly

  1. Prentis says:

    Great atmosphere in that shot Rodney. It is another great example of black and white telling the story better than color.

  2. Oh I do agree with Prentis…great shot, wonderful mountains if the background, every piece of this has a nobility about it. How fun to have the place to yourself.

  3. Rodney says:

    Thanks Prentis. I love gloomy days personally and it was a great atmosphere. I am glad my photo helped to show that.
    Thanks Billie Jean, I like the noble label. It sure was a fun weekend in my opinion. I am so happy others enjoy the photo.

  4. jonnenaarala says:

    Very nice mood in this shot. Everything has stopped and the fog takes over. Brilliant!

  5. Rodney says:

    Thank you Jonnenaarala. That is exactly how it felt. Everything stopped, and the fog was the day. Glad you liked it.

  6. RMW says:

    I have quite a few photos of Valdez but nothing even close to as good as this one… you really caught the mood of the day…

  7. Rodney says:

    Thank you RMW! That is a very kind thing to say and for me to hear. My photography is ever blossoming, so it is nice to know when something is really good. Would like to see your photos of Valdez too.

Leave a Reply

