Weekend inspiration: Pete Souza, White House Photographer

P022112PS-1000
These photos by Pete Souza, recapping his 2012 year with the President of the United States, caught my eye for a number of reasons, so I thought I’d share.

First off, regardless of your political leanings, it’s great to get a look behind the scenes, at some of the most powerful people in the world in off-beat and very human candids.

But secondly, as you look at Souza’s work, you can really appreciate the eye and skills of a professional photographer. Look at the way he composes his shots: each tells a story, and draws us in. His exposure is right on: shadows, depth of field, shutter speed.

It’s been said by many, if you want to improve your photography, look at the work of others, and appreciate what they have done. Here’s a great opportunity to do just that.

If you have the time, look at all 84 images, or bookmark it so you can come back later. And the captions are pretty good too. Did you know there’s a White House beer?

Let us know your thoughts, and have a great weekend.

About Ed Spadoni

www.2GuysPhoto.com "Thoughts and opinions, resources and experiences… for emerging photographers everywhere."
This entry was posted in Images, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weekend inspiration: Pete Souza, White House Photographer

  1. Bille Jean says:

    WOW Ed, I loved every single one. Thank you so much for posting this.

  2. Rodney says:

    Oh to have that talent. I guess that is why he works for the White House :0). Nice images.

  3. Claire :) says:

    Great post! I laughed and teared up looking at the photos!

  4. roythoman says:

    Pete has a GREAT job! He is very good at it too. I’ve had the pleasure of being photographed by Pete.

    • Ed Spadoni says:

      Thanks Roy. We’d love to hear that story. Please share with us!

      • roythoman says:

        My wife and I were helping out at the local campaign office this past election. President Obama was planning a visit to our area. I was asked if I would like to drive one of the motorcade vehicles. I said, of course, I would like to drive a motorcade vehicle! So I drove a van transporting a few White House staff members. No, Pete wasn’t one of them. I picked up the motorcade at the hotel where the President was staying in Orlando and drove to Melbourne where the President would be speaking. I got to see the speech, it was great. After the speech, the 8 motorcade drivers got to meet the President. He greeted each of us and shook our hand as we came in. We all posed for a group photo and, of course, Pete was the photographer. After the photo, the President once again shook each of our hands, and was eager to hear anything that anyone had to say to him. I thought that was pretty remarkable considering we were the last group in a long line to meet him. He greeted us as if we were the only people he had to see that day. It was an AWESOME experience! So that’s how I had the pleasure of being photographed by Pete. Oh and meeting the President wasn’t bad either! I was familiar with and admired Pete’s work long before that day. I was so consumed with meeting the President that I now regret not saying hello to Pete. He was standing right there! I will next time. Anyway Pete’s photo of our group is on my wall and is still the wall paper on my computer.

        • Ed Spadoni says:

          What an experience Roy, thanks for sharing your brush with fame with us. And congratulations. Have you considered posting the photo on you’d blog??

          • roythoman says:

            Thanks Ed, It would be nice to post the photo on my blog. But I was instructed by White House staff not to post it on social media sites. I thought about posting a few of the photos that I took of the motorcade with my point and shoot, but they are not very good. 😦

          • Ed Spadoni says:

            Ahh, national security, of course! A great experience just the same. Thanks Roy. Ed

Leave a Reply

