A walk in the woods

It all came together on Friday afternoon.  I visited a town forest known as Rocky Woods in Medfield, Massachusetts, someplace I haven’t been to in decades.  It was late in the afternoon, so the sun was low and warm in color, and although the peak was past, there were still some beautiful colors in the foliage.  And I was fortunate to have with me a camera and some time to kill.

I followed the red trail around the pond, and here are some of my discoveries.

A cluster of these pink leaves hugged the edge of the path.

rocky woods, medfield, leaf, foliage, fall, autumn, pink, red, 2 guys photo

The pond was completely still and created an almost perfect mirror image.

rocky woods, chickering, pond, foliage, fall, autumn, color, 2 guys photo

For something a little different, here’s the same image converted to black and white via Nik Color Efex Pro:

rocky woods, chickering, pond, foliage, fall, autumn, black and white, 2 guys photo

Despite this being the season that sees an end to most growing things, these delicate sprouts were found on the same branch as decaying leaves.

rocky woods, foliage, fall, autumn, color, 2 guys photo

The sunlight shone right through this old tree trunk.

rocky woods, foliage, fall, autumn, color, 2 guys photo

When I had walked to the shaded side of the pond, with the sun to my back, I looked across and saw the last of the light and colors.  A slow 1/15 second exposure and an intentional quick upward panning resulted in the “impressionist” view.

rocky woods, chickering, pond, foliage, fall, autumn, color, 2 guys photo

Once I had completed the loop around the pond, I looked back for one last glance at the pond.

rocky woods, chickering, pond, foliage, fall, autumn, color, 2 guys photo

I’ll share a few more shots from this wonderful little visit, over the next few days.

(All photos taken with Nikon D90, Nikon 18-200 zoom lens, many with a circular polarizer filter).

About Ed Spadoni

www.2GuysPhoto.com "Thoughts and opinions, resources and experiences… for emerging photographers everywhere."
This entry was posted in Images and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A walk in the woods

  1. Prentis says:

    Love “The Impressionist View” shot.

  2. carinzil says:

    beautiful colours 🙂

  3. Clanmother says:

    You have magic In that camera of yours!! I feel like I have been to On Golden Pond and Walden!!!

  4. lizziejoy10 says:

    These are so gorgeous, Ed. I just love your photographs. Something for me to aspire to. Thank you.

  5. Bille Jean says:

    What a treat! Thanks Ed 🙂

  6. Rodney says:

    Thanks for the walk around the pond Ed!! The black and white photo has great contrast, I like it a lot! And the impressionist photo gives me something new to try, so thanks for that too. Enjoy those final pinks and reds.

Leave a Reply

