Weekend Inspiration: The 5 F’s of Street Photography with John Free

John Free

Click photo for video

John Free is an active photographer with a very active Facebook account and numerous videos on YouTube. I came across this one a while back and felt that John’s advice on improving your photography on the street also had relevance to many other types of photography, so I thought you might enjoy this.

But to be honest, I hesitated because while John’s content is very valuable, his means of delivering it is, kind of, well, “in your face”.

But if you can get past that, I think you’ll find the next 5.5 minutes worthwhile.

Let me know your thoughts, and have a great weekend.

About Ed Spadoni

www.2GuysPhoto.com "Thoughts and opinions, resources and experiences… for emerging photographers everywhere."
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Learning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekend Inspiration: The 5 F’s of Street Photography with John Free

  1. Prentis Drew says:

    My thoughts?…what he says is easier said than done. I had to stop looking at “the eye” and in the process found a number of equally interesting videos listed to the right of it. (I found the Jason Martini one particularly interesting.) They relate not just to the process but to the ethics of street photography in the first place. I personally am on the fence on that one. Today cameras are everywhere. The Internet is everywhere. That changes the conversation from the days of Henri Cartier-Bresson and others of that era.

    I once asked a vendor at an art fair if I could take his photograph. He had a most interesting face. He agreed but after I took it he asked, “what are you going to do with that photograph?” It is a question anyone that had been photographed surreptitiously (albeit legally) would ask if they were aware that they had just had their picture taken.

    • Ed Spadoni says:

      You’re right Prentis. There is always that nagging feeling when I snap a street scene… if they knew, or if they do know, do they care? Should I care that they might care? Would I care if I were being photographed? I go back and forth on all of these points. Sounds like this would make for a good post and we might get some lively discussion.

  2. Rey says:

    I’m just fascinated by the filming technique. One eye only. Compelling or distracting? I’m still deciding…

Leave a Reply

