Boston Skyline Take 1, Take 2

As I drove along the Charles River in Boston, with the dramatic sky hovering above the Copley area skyline (as opposed to the downtown version, complete with the relatively new Zakim Bridge), I knew I’d have to find a place to park my car so I could grab a few shots.  This image is a composite of five all assembled and tone mapped in Nik HDR Efex Pro.

I posted this photo on a popular sharing site and was quite interested in the feedback.  Let’s just say it ranged from “nice artistic rendering” to “what an over-processed mess”.

I then posted the following photo which was toned down and much closer to reality.  Many suggested that it’s a much more pleasing rendition while a few others preferred the first.

If I had to choose myself, I’d go with the top one.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Boston Skyline Take 1, Take 2

  1. I’d go with the top one as well, Rey. There are plenty of examples of overprocessed HDR images out there, but this isn’t one of them. I think the image needs that bit of extra contrast that you’ve given it in the top version in order to bring out the drama in that beautiful sky, as well as the color of the boats lower down in the frame. For what it’s worth, I think it’s nicely done.

    • Rey says:

      Thanks, Curtis. Appreciate the feedback. I’ll be curious to hear what other 2 Guys readers have to say…

      Rey

  2. Ed Spadoni says:

    I’m with Curtis, definitely like the first as it brings out the drama of that sky and draws us into the scene. Nice work Rey.

  3. Rob says:

    Top shot…..those clouds make the image come alive!

  4. Sherry Cote says:

    I love the drama of the darker clouds in the first image. After viewing the first image the second image was a little blah.

    • Rey says:

      Ed, Rob, Sherry –

      Thanks for the comments. It looks as though the first image, based on feedback here, isn’t too harsh. Wondering if anyone cares to differ?

      Rey

Leave a Reply

