Daily Photo Phix: “Money’s worth” by Mark James

Moneys worth by Mark James

The other morning, as I was getting ready for work, I noticed that the sunrise had a little extra oomph to it.  I decided to grab the camera and put my long lens on to see what I could get.  For those of you that photograph sunsets or sunrises you know how only a second or two can change everything, so I had to move fast.  After putting my 45-200mm lens on my Panasonic GH2, I stepped out on the patio to fire off a few rounds.  Lucky for me we have no neighbors as I was not quit finished getting dressed but hey, you know how it is when you see something worth shooting and time is critical.

I’ve taken many shots from this spot so coming up with something fresh can be a challenge. I tried a couple with a palm tree in the shot and a couple more with the arches that are over our pool as well.  Just about that time I heard a helicopter off in the distance.  This is a small island with one helicopter that is used to give tourist sight seeing tours.  They were out for a sunrise flight and were definitely getting their money’s worth this morning.

All I could do was wait and hope that it would come into the frame while the sun was still in a good spot.  A few seconds later it blessed me with a flight path that was almost perfect and I managed to get a couple of shots with it.  I liked this one best.  I did have to crop the edge to remove part of a column and I also switched from 4/3 to 3/2 in order to take advantage of as much of the color as possible.

My camera settings were f/9, 1/1600, ISO 160 and 200mm which is 400mm equivalent.  I raised the exposure just a touch in LR because I felt the water was too dark but that was it. That took a little contrast away from the sky but I was happy with the trade off as it didn’t affect the colors which was my main concern.   Mark James

Thanks Mark – great shot, wonderful colors and detail, nicely exposed.  But next time, don’t forget your pants!   Ed

About Ed Spadoni

www.2GuysPhoto.com "Thoughts and opinions, resources and experiences… for emerging photographers everywhere."
This entry was posted in Daily Photo, Images and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Photo Phix: “Money’s worth” by Mark James

  1. Mark James says:

    Ed, how did you know it was pants?

  2. Rey says:

    The photo of Mark taking this image is the real money shot.

    Rey

    P.S. GREAT shot, Mark…

  3. Rodney says:

    Wonderful photo Mark… looks like it could have been taken in Saigon. I am assuming it is in America though? What part of our beautiful country was this taken in? It is a definite keeper of a photo, Well done!

    Rodney

Leave a Reply

