Dustin Farrell’s incredible time lapse photography

A friend of ours, Mark D., brought to my attention this absolutely stunning three and 1/2 minute video of time lapse photography, created by Dustin Farrell of Arizona. On his home page on Vimeo, Farrell tell us

“Every frame of this video is a raw still from a Canon 5D2 DSLR and processed with Adobe software. In Volume 2 I again show off my beautiful home state of Arizona and I also made several trips to Utah. This video has some iconic landmarks that we have seen before. I felt that showing them again with motion controlled HDR and/or night timelapse would be a new way to see old landmarks.”

After a bit of research, I’ve learned that Farrell’s work has been catching a lot of attention these days, with newspapers and blogs around the world writing about it and in the process, running out of superlatives with which to describe it.  Once you see it, you’ll understand what I mean.  And watch for the subtle panning in addition to the time lapse photography.

Enjoy this in full screen, high-res with the volume up, and let us know what adjectives you would use to describe Farrell’s work.  This is guaranteed to inspire you to dust off your camera and to go create some amazing work of your own.           Posted by Ed

About Ed Spadoni

www.2GuysPhoto.com "Thoughts and opinions, resources and experiences… for emerging photographers everywhere."
This entry was posted in Images, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dustin Farrell’s incredible time lapse photography

  1. Mark James says:

    I like the fact that he moves the camera during the process. It makes you feel more… involved is the word I’ll go with. I did feel like some of the scenes are a little over cooked for my tastes. All in all very cool and past my creative limits.

  2. Prentis Drew says:

    Amazing stuff. I went to his site and watched all his “videos.” (I guess you can call them videos). I assume the HDR is what allows him the stars along with the objects on the ground. I sure would like to know how he moves the camera so smoothly between shots

  3. Howard says:

    Amazingly beautiful, superb! Thanks for sharing Ed.

  4. Rey says:

    OK, seriously one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen. The smoothness of the panning along with the time lapse… wow.

    Rey

Leave a Reply

