Daily Photo Phix: Return to Monument Valley

Entering Monument Valley (B&W)

Last Friday, I posted a Daily Photo Phix image that was processed using Topaz B&W Effects, which I indicated I had just purchased and was experimenting with.  Well, the process continues, and I must tell, you, I’m liking what I’m finding.

I’ve gone into my library of images and am discovering not only the powerful capabilities of this add-in, but also some new and different looks for my old images.

Entering Monument Valley (color)

This shot was taken as we entered Monument Valley from the northwest, having left Four Corners hours earlier. The original (above) is one of my favorites for its color and balance, and hangs in our den.  But using BW Effects, (top), I see a different scene – the clouds are more pronounced, the terrain more gritty, the buttes more craggy.  The scene transforms from a colorful and pleasant vista to a ragged and rugged wilderness, more in keeping with my vision of what the landscape of the old west must have been like; (all those B&W westerns probably influence my thinking on that).

I’ll have another re-work of a Monument Valley scene in a few days, but in the meantime, you might want to try this program.  There’s a 30 day free trial period and a $30 off discount available through 10/3.  That brings the price down to $29.99, which is well worth it.  Visit their site and use the discount code “BWandbeyond” to purchase.  Let us know if you try it and what you think.   And thanks for visiting 2 Guys Photo!

Taken with a Nikon D90, at f/11, 1/1/125 second, in aperture priority, 84mm (equiv) focal length using a Nikon 18-200 zoom lens.  Posted by Ed

About Ed Spadoni

www.2GuysPhoto.com "Thoughts and opinions, resources and experiences… for emerging photographers everywhere."
This entry was posted in Daily Photo, Gear & accessories, Images and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Photo Phix: Return to Monument Valley

  1. kara says:

    I LOVE that bw version, Ed! I got Topaz’ BW after reading about it on 2guys and I am really enjoying it. Thanks for sharing all that you do – very helpful!

Leave a Reply

