Daily Photo Phix: This is not about the bee

A Bee landed on a blue flower

About ten years ago, we planted a variety of flowering shrubs in our front yard.  These included yellow daylilies, a golden yarrow, purple may night sages and a cute little pink plant they told us was named simply “pinx”.  They’ve all bloomed perennially with beautiful colors at different times of the growing season, and we’ve enjoyed the shows they’ve put on in our yard.

But there was one plant, something called a starburst perhaps? (you can tell I’m not much of a “botanist”), that failed to bloom.  For years, we’d get plenty of green foliage but nary a flower was ever seen.  But then this year, something changed.  The plant erupted with hundreds of delicate blue flowers, as you can see here.  When I came home from a business trip this week, the first thing I noticed was the plant, in all it’s glory, and before I even went into the house, I took about 30 shots with my little Panasonic DMC-ZS8 which had accompanied me on the trip.

Interestingly, our lovely blue flowering plant has been swarming with bees ever since it started to bloom.  Hmmm, I wonder if there’s a connection. 😉  I guess that Mother Nature might take her time, but she eventually gets around to everything.

Taken with Panasonic DMC-ZS8, f/3.3, 1/320 second in manual exposure mode, 24mm (equivalent) focal length, ISO 400.  Colors and contrast tweaked in Gimp, (the only decent editing program that will run on my netbook).

And you thought this post was going to be about the bee!   (If you recognize the flower, please let me know – thanks.)                            Posted by Ed

Technorati Tags: ,,,,
About Ed Spadoni

www.2GuysPhoto.com "Thoughts and opinions, resources and experiences… for emerging photographers everywhere."
This entry was posted in Daily Photo, Images and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily Photo Phix: This is not about the bee

  1. Donna McCommon says:

    I don’t know what the flower is but I really like it. This is a beautiful capture. You really are making me want one of these cameras for trips.

  2. Howard says:

    Beautiful Ed, love the colors. The bee definitely adds interest to the shot. Sorry, can’t help with the plant ID but it sure is a pretty!

  3. I love blue flowers, and this one is exquisite! NOT Lily of the Nile but whatever it is it’s great!

Leave a Reply

