Daily Photo Phix: It’s about time

Macro of Citizen Watch with Panasonic DMC ZS8

Click for larger view

I finally decided to “retire” my old faithful Canon point and shoot.  It has served me faithfully since 2006, and has traveled in my briefcase, glove box, backpack and pocket, never complaining about playing second fiddle to a “real” camera, always ready to do it’s best when needed.  But it’s a new decade (!) so it’s time to trade up to longer glass, more megapixels and newer technology like image stabilization while still fitting in a shirt pocket.

The Panasonic DMC-ZS8 is all that and a bag of chips.  I’m still getting familiar with it but this photo was a test of it’s macro capabilities.  This is straight out of the camera, and was taken at f/6.8, 1 sec, in macro mode, with the camera stationary on the table and using the timer to minimize shake.  Click on the image for a larger view and look at the serial info under the number 6 on the watch face – I think it holds up well.  And I think you’ll be seeing more from this cam in the future.       Posted by Ed

About Ed Spadoni

www.2GuysPhoto.com "Thoughts and opinions, resources and experiences… for emerging photographers everywhere."
This entry was posted in Daily Photo, Images and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily Photo Phix: It’s about time

  1. Cool. I think that’s the camera our billiejean is using now. Tempting:-) Which Canon did you retire? Every time I think about retiring my S3 I use it for 6 more months:-)

  2. Rey says:

    I’m a big fan of Panasonic point & shoots, particularly for macros. I even sold a dedicated macro lens for my DSLR kit because I found the Panasonic macro mode to be exceptional. In reality, though, a true macro lens will allow for shots you can’t get with a macro mode (close focus is a better descriptor) P&S camera.

    This photo is crisp and I like the way you lit this (tell us about that, please). And great double meaning title…

    Rey

    P.S. If anyone is interested in purchasing this camera (silver or black) from our sponsor, B&H, please see here:

    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?Ntt=panasonic+zs8&N=0&InitialSearch=yes/BI/7708/KBID/8234

  3. I’ve been using the Panasonic DMC-LX5 off and on for awhile now and the more I use it, the more I’m impressed by it.

  4. Billie King says:

    I’m using a Panasonic Lumix FZ-100…I really like it for the most part, there are few things that I wish were better, but that’s probably always the case. Also mine is a bridge so it’s a little more bulky, as in > it was too blinkin’ bulky to let me take into the Jeff Bridges concert a few weeks ago (GRRRRRRR) and my other lumix, the one that stopped working five days before we left for Spain, the one that I paid $200.00 to get a refurbished the one which now works perfectly, was sitting at home in my office laughing!

  5. Jess Lantz says:

    Holy cow! You ought to see the large image on my ipad……awesome, and from a compact point n shoot.

Leave a Reply

