Daily Photo Phix: Guys just wanna’ have fun!

Donna McCommon, a good friend of 2 Guys Photo, sent in this photo after we published a fun post featuring 12 young people jumping joyfully on a beach.  I got such a “kick” out of  this photo that I asked Donna if we could feature it as a Daily Photo Phix.  Donna graciously agreed and provided some background on this high energy scene:

Pearl high School guys jumping

Canon EOS Rebel, f/2.8, 1/200 sec, ISO 400, focal length 25mm

Donna writes: This photo was taken July 14, 2009 as a result of an assignment in the class “Mastering Your Canon Flash” offered by BetterPhoto.com. The camera is the Canon EOS Rebel which was the camera I had before I purchased the 7D I now use. It was taken at Pearl High School in my classroom which had 16 ft. white ceilings. I decided it was a perfect place for the assignment which was to take photos of subjects using on camera modified flash and bounce flash.

During the week of the assignment I was conducting a week long rehearsal with Chamber Singers at Pearl High School. We had this workshop because of the amount of music they were required to learn during the school year. We would get a “jump” start (no pun intended Smile) on Christmas music. They gave numerous performances between Thanksgiving and Christmas each year, sometimes as many performances as 3 or 4 a day. I was a little concerned about the ceilings being 16 feet high but I needed a white ceiling and didn’t have any at my home. The instructor commented that he was amazed it came out as it did with such high ceilings.

This particular group of students always liked to have fun. They also knew when they could act crazy and when it was time to be ready to learn. During break that day I told them what I needed and immediately had volunteers. After having studied the lesson, I decided I would use the bounce card on the flash as the modified flash. I started taking photos of these guys and liked the results of this one. I did take some of other students but this one just really was funny and covered all the areas of the assignment of modified flash.

As far as expressions, they all had drama experience and were just clowns in general. I don’t think they really believed I would use this shot. Fooled them!! I was always taking photos to use on the end of the year video shown at our Awards Banquet so they were not camera shy. Basically these guys were always willing to “perform” for photos anytime I needed something.

~ ~ ~

Between their mid-air poses and those wild expressions, I can’t look at these guys without having a good laugh.  Thanks Donna for capturing and sharing this fun moment with all of usTo enjoy more of Donna’s photography, please take a tour of her galleries here, and thanks for visiting 2 Guys Photo.          –  Posted by Ed

About Ed Spadoni

www.2GuysPhoto.com "Thoughts and opinions, resources and experiences… for emerging photographers everywhere."
This entry was posted in Daily Photo, Images and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Photo Phix: Guys just wanna’ have fun!

  1. Such a hilarious capture… started my day with a huge smile…!! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Thanks Mrs. McCommon!! (Guy on Left) 😀
    ps: no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t throw that darn leg up there!! haha

  3. Pingback: The Online Camera Store » Daily Photo Phix: Guys just wanna' have fun! | 2 Guys Photo

Leave a Reply

