Daily Photo Phix: Solitary

"Daily Photo Phix"

The sun was setting in a brilliant, warm tone and I was fortunate enough to be standing right in this spot.  Taken with a Nikon D5100 at f25 and 1/13 second.  ISO was set at a low 125.

The image was fine as it was, with beautiful reds and yellows running together over a steel gray sea.  But I was looking for something a little different, something more reflective of my mood.  In terms of the mood, I found myself focusing on the sole boat in the bay.

I ran the file into Topaz Labs’ brand new program, B&W Effects (which I’m evaluating for 30 days – so far, I like what I see and the introductory price is only $30.  For more information, see here.  Don’t forget to enter the code: bwandbeyond… if you’re thinking of buying it.)  I used one of the filter presets under the Sepia category.  From there, I nudged the program’s easy to use sliders and other adjustments to get this exactly the way I wanted.  Much like Nik program’s U-Point technology and Apple Aperture’s brushes, Topaz has introduced the ability to selectively add or take away adjustments.  The brushes are edge aware which is super nice.  Here, I brought up the water and added some shimmer to give it a bit of golden glow.  Finally, I darkened the edges via the vignetting tool.

We had seven glorious, perfect weather days on the beach, so expect more oceanside shots to follow.

Posted by Rey

This entry was posted in Daily Photo, Images and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Photo Phix: Solitary

  1. kara says:

    Gorgeous, Rey. And I was thinking about trying that Topaz bw, so it is very nice to hear how you feel about it. I may just try it!

  2. Donna McCommon says:

    I love this. Like Kara, I’ve been debating whether to add the Topaz BW. Looks like it is a real good deal.
    Donna

  3. Ed Spadoni says:

    This has such a smoky, moody feel to it Rey, it looks great. You should print and hang it prominently. Thanks for the tip about Topaz BW Efffects… I’ll be giving it a try. Ed

  4. Rey says:

    Thanks for all the comments. I’m continuing to like Topaz BW and will post more samples soon…

    Rey

Leave a Reply

