Perfect Picture School of Photography by Janet McQueen

Janet McQueen first introduced us to this valuable learning resource for photographers in her interview as our most recent Featured Photographer.  Janet is back today as a guest contributor to 2 Guys Photo to tell us more…

* * *

It’s ‘back to school time’ and if you’re a photographer looking to upgrade your skills at a great price, I think I can offer a solution!

The Perfect Picture School of Photography (PPSOP) is offering a 15% discount on all classes if you sign up by August 26thto begin classes on September 2nd.

PPSOP

Over the past 4 years, I’ve enjoyed 6 classes at the online PPSOP and considering the excellent discount they are offering, I thought you might be interested in knowing a little more about the School.

Bryan Peterson is the founder and driving force behind PPSOP. You are probably aware of his many excellent books on photography, including my personal favourite, Understanding Exposure. In his school and in his classes, he offers the same passion for both photography and teaching that have made his books consistent international best sellers.

The School currently boasts 26 Instructors, all of them highly skilled, well known professional photographers. The classes offer a wide range of choices for three levels of experience – beginner, intermediate and professional, as well as ‘Digital Darkroom’ courses that include several classes on Photoshop, Lightroom and Elements.

If you are considering signing up, you might be interested in how the classes are structured.

Depending on which class you join, most Courses are 4, 6 or 8 weeks long and there are over 30 Courses to choose from. Each week you receive a lesson and an assignment, which must be completed within 10 days. The assignment usually consists of uploading 3 photographs that will be critiqued by the Instructors within a day or two. Note: although you have 10 days to complete each assignment, the lessons will continue to arrive once a week – therefore, procrastinating students will quickly find themselves falling behind and possibly becoming confused… Voice of Experience speaking here… 🙂

The lessons are always a wealth of valuable information and the assignments are usually very specific and require a significant commitment of time and energy, so I would suggest that you avoid signing up for a Course unless you know that you will have the time to give it your best.

The critiques are consistently very instructive, timely and honest. Each instructor focuses on the positive aspects of your work and at the same time, gets directly to the area that needs improvement.

Each class has a very interactive and busy forum. Students can participate in the forum as much or as little as they choose. I love to join in as much as possible, there is so much to be learned  – both from the other students in the class and from the Instructors who are always eager to answer any questions you might have.

One of my favourite classes was Pet Photography with Jill Flynn. In her class, we learned how to turn this:

Dakota & Ella not posed

Into this:

Dakota & Ella posed

And this:

Max jumping

Into this:

Max posing

The online Photography School experience is a perfect fit for my busy life and it maybe exactly what you’ve been looking for as well. If so, I hope that sharing my experience has been helpful and maybe I’ll see you in class at PPSOP on September 2… !!

* * *

Thanks Janet, this sounds like a great way to improve our skills, learning from experts, at our own pace.  If anyone is interested in taking a course at PPSOP, book it before 8/26 for a 15% discount.  Select a course and add it to your cart, and the discount will be taken at check-out.

PPSOP 15% discount until 8/26/11

Many thanks Janet for your insights on PPSOP.  More of Janet’s photography can be viewed in her galleries here and you can read her blog here.

Share your experiences with PPSOP or other online training – we’d love to know what worked for you and what didn’t.  And thanks for visiting 2 Guys Photo!

About Ed Spadoni

www.2GuysPhoto.com "Thoughts and opinions, resources and experiences… for emerging photographers everywhere."
This entry was posted in Learning, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Perfect Picture School of Photography by Janet McQueen

  1. Dianne Ward says:

    Janet, based on your recommendation for PPSOP, I signed up for my first class which begins on September 2nd. I can’t wait for it to start!

  2. During the spring I took the Food Photography course and I would highly recommend it to all people looking to shoot any food. The lessons I learned in lighting, perspective and general photography were invaluable.

  3. Hi Ed…..I also wanted to say that anyone who would like more information on PPSOP – the courses, the instructors, the format, etc…. I’d be more than happy to answer their questions as best I can. Just send me an email at jbmcphoto@gmail.com.
    Just realized I forgot to include it…. 🙂
    Thanks for inviting me to be your guest…. I’m honoured to be part of 2 Guys Photo!!
    Janet

  4. Ed Spadoni says:

    Terrific Janet, and thanks for helping 2 Guys and our readers.

  5. Sharkbayte says:

    Thank you for posting this. I have been doing an at home course and when Janet had mention PPSOP I checked out some of their course offerings. I hope to sign up for one soon. Great information and thanks for sharing!

  6. Donna McCommon says:

    I just signed up!!!! Thanks for the information. I’m excited.

  7. Michael Cooper says:

    I signed up for a PPSOP class in January, my first online photo class ever. I wasn’t sure what to expect. 26 people were signed up for the class, they showed up in the class roster, but only 3 people participated. During the week – silence. People submitted their assignment photos on time. The photo critiques were done in a timely manner and posted. Then silence during the next week/lesson. In this particular class, anyway, people paid $195 to drop photos in an inbox to be professionally critiqued I suppose. Lost was interaction and discussion where learning takes place. I just wasn’t the learning environment I expected.

Leave a Reply

