A Dewy Daily Day Lily

Pardon the alliteration.  (And look for a special invitation at the end of this post).

On and off for many years, I have been posting a photo each day to the Daily Photo Community on SmugMug, where I also host my galleries.  Posting a photo every day is fun, challenging, cathartic, stressful, educational and rewarding.  I wrote about the benefits of posting to a community each day and having your work seen in an earlier post here, and I strongly recommend it to anyone who enjoys photography and is interested in improving their skills.

This photo was taken in my front yard a few days ago as I left for work.  The sky was cloudy, creating a soft light all over, and these flowers were heavy with morning dew.  I shot it at 1/100 sec, f/5.3, ISO 200, using matrix metering, with my D90 and an 18-55mm lens at a focal length of 40mm.  I edited the image in Picasa, increasing contrast a bit (there wasn’t much to begin with due to the soft light), cropping and adding the frame:

A yellow Day Lily covered with dew

“If you have two loaves of bread, sell one and buy a lily” Chinese Proverb

In retrospect, a narrower depth of field to blur the background a bit more might have been nice.  But f/5.3 was the widest aperture I could achieve on that lens at that focal length, so a little editing after the fact could have done the trick.  But I like the detail, the soft light, and the colors.  What do you think?

Do you post a daily photo anywhere?  Would you like to?

We had an idea here at 2 Guys that we’d like to share more Daily Photos with our readers, and that includes your photos

Email us (2guysphoto@gmail.com) your daily photos and based on the responses we get, we’ll post some here.  You just might be surprised at the feedback you receive! 

Let us know what you think.  And thanks for visiting 2 Guys Photo.

Posted by Ed

About Ed Spadoni

www.2GuysPhoto.com "Thoughts and opinions, resources and experiences… for emerging photographers everywhere."
This entry was posted in Daily Photo, Images and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Dewy Daily Day Lily

  1. The wet lily is gorgeous. The exposure seems perfect. I do wish the wet leaf at the very bottom was less focused.

  2. Pingback: Daily Photo: Hibiscus on deck | 2 Guys Photo

  3. Rodney says:

    Hey Ed,

    I like the lily shot, and I agree that blurring the background might make it better. But I wonder if some extra saturation of the yellow would have a similar effect? Just wondering out loud of course. I will send Brazil photos soon I hope

    Rodney

Leave a Reply

