Hands

On Mother’s Day of this year, I took this impromptu photo of my parents’ hands.  It inspired me to gather other images I’ve made of these marvelous tools that serve us, and present them here.

Mom and Dad, Mother's Day, 2011

“Since love grows within you, so beauty grows. For love is the beauty of the soul.”

Saint Augustine (354-430)

Friends, coffee, smiling hands

  “When our eyes see our hands doing the work of our hearts, the circle of Creation is completed inside us, the doors of our souls fly open, and love steps forth to heal everything in sight.”

Michael Bridge

 A mother's hands

“If evolution really works, how come mothers only have two hands?”

Milton Berle

Detail from "Portrait of a Woman", Frans Pourbus

Detail from “Portrait of a Woman”, Frans Pourbus, the Elder, 1545–1581

Boston’s Museum of Fine Arts

A Father's hands

“The most eloquent prayer is the prayer through hands that heal and bless.”

Billy Graham quotes (b.1918)

Hands with rings

“The final forming of a person’s character lies in their own hands”

Anne Frank (1929-1945)

Posted by Ed

About Ed Spadoni

www.2GuysPhoto.com "Thoughts and opinions, resources and experiences… for emerging photographers everywhere."
This entry was posted in Images and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hands

  1. Rodney says:

    Hey Ed!
    Great photos!! A freind of mine went to Malawi on a medical mission and she took some great hand photos… I will send those to your email… I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed these!
    cheers, Rodney

  2. Mark James says:

    Very nice series. Keep them coming.

  3. Judy Horton says:

    Really nice shots, Ed!

  4. Ya know, I don’t think I’ve ever posted a picture of hands as my POTD. I’ve taken some especially of the kids cooking. I’m inspired to take a closer look and try to come up with a good hand shot this year.

Leave a Reply

